Member Spotlight

Nadine Aubry

SES has awarded the 2017 Taylor Medal to Nadine Aubry, Dean and Professor of the College of Engineering at Northeastern University. This award recognizes Professor Aubry's seminal contributions to the reduced modeling of turbulent and other flows, and judicious microfluidics.

Yonggang Huang

SES has awarded the 2017 Prager Medal to Yonggang Huang, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University. This award recognizes Professor Huang's seminal contributions to the mechanics theories with applications to engineering sciences, particularly in research areas of mechanism-based strain gradient plasticity theory, stretchable electronics with biomedical applications, and transient electronics.

Xiang Zhang

SES has awarded the 2017 Eringen Medal to Xiang Zhang, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. This award recognizes Professor Zhang’s contribution at the frontier of nicro-nano scale engineering, in particular to novel 3D fabrication technologies in microelectronics and photonics, plasmonics, optical metamaterials and superlens, and nanolasers.

L. Mahadevan

SES has awarded the 2017 Rice Medal to L. Mahadevan, Professor of Applied Mathematics, Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, and Physics at Harvard University. This is the inaugural award of this medal. This award recognizes Professor Mahadevan's fundamental contributions to the mechanics and mathematics of elastic instability and pattern formation in physical and biological systems.

Xuanhe Zhao

SES has awarded the 2017 Young Investigator Medal to Xuanhe Zhao, Associate Professor at MIT. This award recognizes Professor Zhao's fundamental and applied contributions to mechanics of soft materials including design of unconventional polymer networks for tough strong adhesive hydrogels, discovery of new instabilities in soft dielectrics, and development of phase diagrams for surface instabilities.

Oscar Lopez-Pamies

SES has awarded the 2017 Young Investigator Medal to Oscar Lopez-Pamies, Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, at the University of Illinois. This award recognizes Professor Lopez-Pamies' seminal contributions to the understanding of cavitation phenomena in rubber and the elastic dielectric behavior of filled elastomers by means of novel iterative homogenization techniques as well as the development of effective constitutive model for hyperelastic materials.

A. Cemal Erigen

SES remembers Prof. A. Cemal Eringen, Professor Emeritus, Princeton University, who passed away on December 7, 2009, aged 88 years. Professor Eringen was a founder of SES in 1963 and served as SES President from 1963-1973. He was the first recipient of the Eringen medal, which was established in 1975 in his honor. Dr. Eringen's last writings were on micromorphic, micropolar and nonlocality theories in the foreword he wrote for the volume "Generalized Continuum Mechanics - one hundred years after the Cosserats" edited by A. Metrikine and Gerard A.

Subscribe to RSS - Member Spotlight