2011 Medalists Announced at 48th Annual Technical Meeting

Medalists for 2011 were announced at the recent 48th Annual Technical Meeting of SES at Northwestern University.  This year’s medalists are Ted Belytschko (Prager Medal), Ares Rosakis (Eringen Medal), Hassan Aref (Taylor Medal), and Xi Chen (Young Investigator Medal).

2011 Prager Medalist – Ted Belytschko

Ted Belytschko was awarded the 2011 William Prager Medal of the Society in recognition of his seminal contributions to the field of computational solid mechanics.  Belytschko is the McCormick School Professor of Engineering and the Murphy Professor of Mechanical and Civil Engineering at Northwestern University.  He is a Member of National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has provided invaluable leadership to the mechanics community, and has served on many important society functions such as the US National Committee in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, IUTAM Congress Committee, Applied Mechanics Division Executive Committee in ASME.  He is the editor-in-chief of International Journal for Numerical Methods in Engineering, a major journal in computational science and engineering.  Belytschko has received numerous honors, including the Structural Computational Mechanics Award (1997) and the Neumann Medal (2001) from US Association for Computational Mechanics, the von Karman Medal from ASCE (1999), the Timoshenko Medal from ASME (2001), and the Gauss Newton Medal from International Association for Computational Mechanics (2002).

2011 Eringen Medalist – Ares Rosakis

Ares Rosakis was awarded the 2011 A. Cermal Eringen Medal of the Society in recognition of his sustained contributions to dynamic fracture mechanics and methods to determine stresses in thin film structures.  Rosakis is the Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at California Institute of Technology.  He is presently Chair of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science at Caltech, where he previously served as Director of the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories between 2004 and 2009.  He is a Member of the US National Academy of Engineering and American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  He received his BA and MA degrees in Engineering Science from Oxford University, and his ScM and PhD degrees in solid mechanics from Brown University.  Rosakis has received numerous honors  including the Hetényi Award (1991, 2008), the B.L. Lazan Award (1996), the Frocht Award (2003), the Murray Medal and Lecture (2005) and the Harting Award (2007) from the Society of Experimental Mechanics,  the Brown University Engineering Alumni Medal and the Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award from ASME (2010).

2011 Taylor Medalist – Hassan Aref (1950-2011)

Hassan Aref (1950-2011) was awarded the 2011 G. I. Taylor Medal of the Society in recognition of his outstanding research contributions in Fluid Mechanics, in particular for his seminal applications of dynamical systems theory to fluid mechanics.  Aref was the Reynolds Metal Professor of Engineering Science and Mechanics at Virginia Tech where he had served as Dean of Engineering between 2003-2005. He is Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Academy of Mechanics, and the World Innovation Foundation. Arefʼs main area of accomplishment and expertise is the application of concepts from dynamical systems theory to fluid mechanics.  He is particularly well known for having developed the concept of chaotic advection in fluid mechanics. The notion that regular, laminar flows can produce chaotic particle trajectories is now understood as a cornerstone of fluid flow kinematics and the term chaotic advection is used as a classifying keyword by leading journals of the field and for major conferences.  For this singular contribution Hassan received the Otto Laporte award of the American Physical Society in 2000. His seminal single authored paper discussing this concept, “Stirring by chaotic advection,” that was published in Journal of Fluid Mechanics in 1984, has been cited almost 900 times according to the ISI Web of Knowledge database.  (Photo shows Prof. Ishwar Puri deliver the acceptance speech on behalf of Prof. Aref)

2011 Young Investigator Medalist – Xi Chen

Xi Chen was awarded  the 2011Young Investigator Medal of the Society in recognition of his research contributions in new frontiers of engineering science, including mechanics of new energy materials, nanomechanics, and mechanobiology. Chen received his B.E. degree from Xian Jiaotong University in 1994, his M.E. degree from Tsinghua University in 1997, and his Ph.D. in Solid Mechanics from Harvard University in 2001. He joined the Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at Columbia University in September 2003. Chen received the NSF CAREER Award in 2007, the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in 2008, and the Sia Nemat-Nasser EARLY CAREER Award from ASME in 2010.